You have to act as if it were possible to radically transform the world. And you have to do it all the time.

- Angela Y. Davis.

On Sale

Oct 23: Radical Foundations! Annihilation of Caste by B.R Ambedkar

Sale price

Regular price $25.00
( / )
Title

October 23rd, Saturday
1pm New York |  7pm Johannesburg  |   6pm London

RADICAL FOUNDATIONS

A masterclass on Annihilation of Caste by B.R. Ambedkar, a prolific thinker, Dalit intellectual, leader of caste oppressed majority, and a tireless activist for the abolition of caste in India.

About the book
Annihilation of Caste was originally written in 1936 as a speech which Ambedkar was subsequently forbidden from delivering. He went on to self-publish this text and it soon became a powerful and gut-wrenching indictment of India's caste system rooted in the violence of Hindu scriptures. It has endured as one of the singularly most important books today and comparable in scope and influence to Marx and Engel's The Communist Manifesto or Dubois' The Souls of Black Folk. 

Dr. Suraj Yengde will convene this seminar. Attendees will receive a reading pack in advance. We expect attendees to read the materials and be willing to engage in the online discussion. We will meet for 3 hours with breaks in between. 

About the instructor
Dr. Suraj Yengde is a leading scholar and public intellectual. He is the author of the bestseller Caste Matters and co-editor of award winning anthology The Radical in Ambedkar. Caste Matters was recently featured in the prestigious "Best Nonfiction Books of the Decade" list by The Hindu. Yengde holds a research associate position with the department of African and African American Studies, a non-resident fellow at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University, and is part of the founding team of Initiative for Institutional Anti-Racism and Accountability (IARA) at Harvard University.